Religions and Dietary Practices


  • Alcohol is prohibited.
  • Many are lacto-ovo vegetarians.
  • Some eat fish and some avoid only beef.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)

  • Alcohol, tea, and coffee are prohibited.
  • Consumption of meat is limited.
  • The first Sunday of the month is optional for fasting.

Eastern Orthodox

  • During Lent, all animal products, including dairy products are forbidden
  • Fasting occurs during Advent.
  • Exceptions from fasting includes illness and pregnancy.

Jehovah’s Witness

  • Any foods to which blood has been added are prohibited.
  • They can eat animal flesh that has been drained.


  • Orthodox believers must adhere to dietary kosher laws: meats allowed include animals that are vegetable eaters, cloven-hoofed animals, and animals that are ritually slaughtered. fish that have scales and fins are allowed, any combination of meat and milk is prohibited.
  • During Yom Kippur, 24-hour fasting is observed.
  • Pregnant women and those are seriously ill are exempt from fasting.
  • During Passover, only unleavened bread is eaten.


  • Many are vegetarians. Those who eat meat do not eat beef or pork.
  • Fasting rituals vary.
  • Children are not allowed to participate in fasting.


  • Pork, birds of prey, alcohol, and any meat product not ritually slaughtered are prohibited.
  • During the month of Ramadan, fasting occurs during daytime.


  • Alcohol is prohibited.
  • Members avoids consumption of anything to which blood has been added.
  • Some individuals avoid pork.

Roman Catholicism

  • They avoid meat on Ash Wednesday and Fridays of Lent.
  • They practice optional fasting during Lent season.
  • Children and the ill are exempt from fasting.

Seventh Day Adventist (Church of God)

  • Alcohol and caffeneted beverages are prohibited.
  • Many are lacto0ovo vegetarians; those who eat meat avoid pork.
  • Overeating is prohibited; 5 to 6 hours between meals without snacking is practiced.